Matthew

My feedback

  1. 143 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Matthew commented  · 

    Any Update on this? It's a daily problem for me and disruption to my workflow.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Matthew commented  · 

    I'm right with you I posted the below response to the Request that got this changed. "Share Again – don’t copy URL on Saved-As"

    Elaine, this change is Bad. It's now more like a "save as new" not a traditional Adobe "save as". I place the shareable URL as an asset or resource inside what makes up an XD file.

    Fundamentally "save as" is a complete duplicate of the file at that point in time, in every way with a change in the file name. Leaving all the work you just have finished safely in the original file. Giving optimization of file size, document cleanliness reducing layer and groping management, and versioning.

    The option to create a new URL "Found in the share view" is plenty appropriate to split from an old URL with a new URL. The use cases of "I forgot to.." or "Bad file management" is not good enough in my eyes to change the "save as" function.

    Now a little about why this is so destructive to workflows involving multiple teams in small, medium and large companies. Stakeholders, Product, front and back end engineering to QA, all need to be aligned with a few core pieces of any project. Requirements and what it should look and work like. You better believe the ability to have a single point of UI/UX truth becomes key to all staying on the same page as the project moves from start to finish.

    The life span of a project can be short or very long. Evolving across departments leaving behind our sharable XD URL in requirements, Applications, and Notes. From Executives to Managers and other note-takers on a project the last thing they want to do is manage the UX/UI or Designers constantly changing URLs.

    People naturally pass that sharable XD URL in all sorts of ways `slack, email, spreadsheets'' with the expectation they will not need another link until told explicitly otherwise… This lightens the load on my department to update in all locations that we may or may not have access too.

    This has been key to the department's buying into, using and referencing the Adobe XD URL. The phrase “I have pushed the changes to the URL” has become super powerful and means the same thing to every department.

    In true design fashion, I keep a complete archive of the project and process in XD files. The ability to start the one URL from beginning to end has been powerful in optimizing workflow through the life of the project.

    If a file is the whole project or just a small piece of one, the decision is mine when I need another shareable URL and not stunted by "save as". I should be able to document my XD files my way without having to create a new URL for every file I save, till I create a new file.

    Alternatively can we not give the option to reset the shareable URL during the action of Save as with the "never show again" option if this is critical to product functionality?

    Thank you for your consideration, Please change this.
    Matt

    Matthew supported this idea  · 
  2. 63 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Matthew supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Matthew commented  · 

    Bring back the Prototype thumbnail!

Feedback and Knowledge Base