Request details

Nested Symbol Overrides: swap inner symbol in different copies of outer symbol

So I started playing with Symbols Override for the June Update, but I feel this feature is still a little limited to what we can do.

Like I want to create a master nav bar with active and default states. But the override doesn't allow me to have that flexibility.

Same thing applies to a tab bar for iOS apps.

Right now I feels this Symbols Override feature only works for Buttons when you want to keep the same button styling but have different text. Or maybe cards with bitmap images, but not in a repeated grid list view format.

279 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Stevo shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

27 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Sketch is great at doing this. Being able to use a symbol/component like a default button, and changing the text or nested style with so much ease. XD Components /symbols still has a long way to go (even with its May 2019 update).

• Sombra commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Nested Symbols overrides like it is presented in Sketch App for Mac.

• Robbie commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Just started a new job that uses XD instead of Sketch. I'm already thinking of quitting because of the lack of basic functionality like this in XD. Not to mention not being able to select elements across multiple groups. How does anyone get any work done in this program!

Oh yes please add the same functionality as sketch does with nested symbols

OMGGGGG I really very very very need this........ why XD think it is worthless and still not care about this
    just tell us how many voice do you need???? I will ask very ux ui guys to help this out!

pleaseeeee it is very important feature.